Photo of STT and STX Commencement Speakers 2013
Videos of both class speakers making their presentations - along with other Commencement highlights - are featured in the 2013 Commencement Video section below.

2014 Commencement Details

The University of the Virgin Islands will host its 2014 Commencement Ceremonies at 7 p.m. on Saturday, May 17, in the Sports and Fitness Center on the St. Thomas Campus and at 2:30 p.m. on Sunday, May 18, on the grounds of the Albert A. Sheen Campus on St. Croix. Commencement provides graduating students and invited guests the opportunity to celebrate this special milestone. Most graduating students take part in commencement, but participation is not required in order to graduate.

St. Thomas Highlight Video

Information for Graduating Students

Click this link for specific information for graduating students 
– applications deadlines, fees, diplomas, regalia, tickets, etc.

  • News Release - April 21, 2014
    Dr. Henry Louis Gates, Jr. to Speak at UVI Commencement
    Harvard Professor Dr. Henry Louis Gates, Jr., will give the keynote address at UVI's 2014 Commencement Ceremonies. Joining him as honorary doctorate recipients will be the Hon. Ron de Lugo and Horace Clarke. - read more

Special Needs Seating

UVI offers a special needs seating and parking area for our guests. Contact
the Commencement Committee chair persons for further information.


St. Croix Highlight Video

2013 Commencement

More than 220 degrees were awarded to St. Thomas Campus students on May 11, 2013. More than 120 degrees were awarded to Albert A. Sheen Campus students on May 12, 2013. Former U.S. Congressman, Chairman of the Congressional Black Caucus and President of the NAACP Kweisi Mfume was the 2013 commencement keynote speaker. Class speakers were Linda Ritter on St. Thomas and Charnele M. Burton on St. Croix.

2013 Commencement Videos - View All  Archived Commencement Programs
Previous Keynote Speakers Previous Honorary Doctorate Recipients
  • Hon. Kweisi Mfume, 2013
  • Dr. Beverly Tatum, 2012
  • Dr. Johnetta Cole, 2011
  • Mr. Randall Robinson, 2010

    Keynote Speakers also receive
    UVI Honorary Doctorate Degrees
  • Hon. Terence A. Todman, 2013
  • Mr. George F. Tyson, 2013
  • Dr. Alfred O. Heath, 2012
  • Hon. Donna M. Christensen, 2012
  • Mr. Ralph M. Paiewonsky, 1992

About UVI Honorary Degrees