Action Taken by UVI Board of Trustees

Trustees Elected by the Board

The Committee on Trustees, in accordance with Article II, Section(c), submitted candidates to fill the two positions of Trustee Elected by the Board. The Committee on Trustees recommended the reelection of Trustee Thraen and Trustee Moorhead, whose five-year term was due to expire on October 30, 2011. Both candidates indicated their willingness to continue their service on the Board of Trustees.

Mr. Alexander A. Moorhead was first elected to the Board of Trustees in 1996, and was reelected in 2001 and 2006. Mr. Moorhead has been serving as Board Chair since 2008.

Dr. Yvonne E. L. Thraen was first elected to the Board of Trustees in 1996, and was re-elected in 2001 and 2006. Dr. Thraen currently chairs the Academic Research & Student Affairs Committee and serves on the Building and Grounds and the Executive Committees.

The Board of Trustees, at its meeting of October 29, 2011, unanimously re-elected Mr. Alexander Moorhead and Dr. Yvonne E. L. Thraen to the UVI Board of Trustees for five year terms each.