Information For...


UVI Board of Trustees Elects New Chairman, Approves FY 2015 Budget

UVI Board of Trustees Chairman Alexander Moorehead and UVI President David Hall

In the regular session of its quarterly meeting on June 7, on the Albert A. Sheen Campus on St. Croix, the University of the Virgin Islands Board of Trustees elected Attorney Henry Smock to serve as chairman and Alexander A. Moorhead as vice chairman. Moorhead, who served as chairman for six years,

PHOTO: UVI President David Hall presented the outgoing Chairman Alexander A. Moorhead with a plaque recognizing him for his service.

chose not to be considered for reelection to the chairman position. The outcome represents a switch in positions between the two. “It is so refreshing to think back on the big things, and the little things, that have made UVI such a great institution,” said Chairman Smock. “This is one more job I embrace with enthusiasm and I look forward to your support.”

At the meeting the Board approved the fiscal year 2015 operating budget of $46,904,642. Edward Thomas, chairman of the Board’s Finance and Budget Committee, noted that UVI’s V.I. Government appropriations were restored to $30 million. A Career Advancement Policy for UVI staff was approved. UVI President David Hall said the plan provides a systematic and comprehensive manner for advancing staff of the University. A major part of the new policy is making career advancement part of the evaluation process. The plan does not include teaching faculty. As an addition to the agenda, the Board’s 2014-2015 goals were presented and approved. They include:

  • Creating a mechanism for stakeholders to make presentations to the Board
  • Having a progress report on the Strategic Plan presented at each Board meeting
  • Finding ways to resolve UVI’s financial challenges
  • Continuing to update Board policies
  • Assessing and researching terms of service for student and faculty trustees
  • Making presentations to other UVI boards to foster better understanding
  • Making presentations to the VI Government’s executive and legislative branches on the strategic goals of UVI

The Board also ratified actions taken by the Executive Committee – awarding a degree posthumously to a student who died a few months before commencement and directing administration to develop a policy to cover posthumous awarding of degrees.

The presentation of key performance indicators showed a 7.3 percent reduction in the University’s dependence on fossil fuels.

Professor Tim Faley Professor Kula Francis
Dr. Timothy Faley, the Kiril Sokoloff Endowed Chair in Entrepreneurship  Assistant Professor of Political Science Dr. Kula Francis

In executive session, the Board granted tenure to Assistant Professor of Political Science Dr. Kula Francis and to Dr. Timothy Faley, the Kiril Sokoloff Endowed Chair in Entrepreneurship and Special Assistant to the President for Entrepreneurial Initiatives.

Executive members also voted on the next steps for the UVI NEXT Project, amended language in the trustee emeritus policy and authorized President Hall to respond to a letter from Senate President Shawn-Michael Malone.

Trustee Patricia Steele was elected by the Board to replace Chairman Smock on the Research and Technology Park Board.  

In his report to the Board, President Hall highlighted many students for their accomplishments. “I am always proud of what our students do, not only while they are here, but when they leave here,” Dr. Hall said, noting many graduates who were accepted into Ph.D. programs throughout the nation. He also highlighted faculty accomplishments, before moving on to institutional achievement. Dr. Hall noted the $30 million donation for the development phase of the medical school; the commitment of V.I. Governor John P. de Jongh Jr. to secure the debt service for the construction of buildings for the medical school; and the appointment of Dr. Benjamin Sachs as the medical school’s interim dean, who is in the early stages of preparing the documents for LCME accreditation and developing the organizational structure of the medical school.

President Hall reported on a $3 million grant for UVI’s solar power project. Construction of the project is expected to be completed by the end of August on the Albert A. Sheen Campus on St. Croix and the end of October on the St. Thomas Campus. Other institutional achievements noted by President Hall included:

  • Memorandums of Understanding between UVI and the H. Lavity Stoutt Community College on Tortola and the Anguilla Community College
  • A studio for WUVI radio station on St. Croix
  • The accreditation of UVI’s School of Nursing
  • The accreditation of UVI’s School of Business

He also noted UVI’s controller and the Accounting Department for their work with the firm Ernst and Young to complete the University’s external audit on time.

Research and Technology Park (RTP) Executive Director David Zumwalt reported that 64 West, the RTP’s new building, was awarded prestigious LEED Silver Certification. He also noted the RTP Board’s upcoming annual meeting on June 9.         

UVI President David Hall presents presidential award.
 UVI President David Hall presented the presidential award the School of Business, and its Interim Dean Aubrey Washington and Associate Professor of Business Dr. Lonnie Hudspeth.

As customary, President Hall recognized UVI employees or units that have performed exceptionally with the President’s Appreciation Award. This quarter’s award was presented to the School of Business, and its Interim Dean Aubrey Washington and Associate Professor of Business Dr. Lonnie Hudspeth. In May, the School of Business received accreditation from the Accreditation Council for Business Schools and Programs. Dean Washington and Dr. Hudspeth led the accreditation process.

During the meeting President Hall presented the outgoing Chairman Moorhead with a plaque, recognizing him for his service and wishing him a happy birthday. It was the last meeting for outgoing student Trustee Joshua Edwards and faculty Trustee Dr. Teresa Turner. President Hall also recognized Dr. Cheryl Franklin, dean of the School of Nursing, who will be leaving the University.

The next regular meeting of the UVI Board of Trustees is scheduled for Oct. 25 on the St. Thomas Campus.