Information For...


The Caribbean Writer Announces Volume 32 Prize Winners

The Caribbean Writer Volume 32 Book Cover

The Caribbean Writer – a University of the Virgin Islands annually published literary journal with a Caribbean focus - announced its annual prizewinners for Volume 32. Featured within this edition of The Caribbean Writer, which is themed “Rough Tides, Tough Times: Reflections and Transitions,” is a tribute by Paget Henry in memory of Wilson Harris.

“We received over 300 submissions for this edition of The Caribbean Writer.  The selections represent a wealth of talent from within the region and its diaspora,” said Alcess Lewis-Brown, editor of The Caribbean Writer. As always, our work at The Caribbean Writer requires a dedicated focus because submissions are  year round, nonstop and just about 24/7 because of the fact that our Caribbean authors  live and work  all over The Caribbean region and its diaspora as far away as England, India, Japan and Canada. They are as close as Jamaica, St. Lucia and Grenada, of course, the Virgin Islands,” she added. “It’s like the sun never sets at The Caribbean Writer. Our editorial board members must be commended for their diligence in providing critical expertise.”

The Daily News Prize for an author resident in the U.S. Virgin Islands or the British Virgin Islands is awarded to Virgin Islands author, poet, essayist Clement White for “Fia’bun An’ Dey Queen Dem---Re-Examination DWI Sits and History in Search of a V.I. Identity.” This prize, awarded to a prose or fiction writer, is a longstanding prize sponsored for over two decades by the Virgin Islands Daily News.

The Canute A. Brodhurst Prize for best short fiction is awarded to Trinidadian-Bahamian poet and fiction writer Lelawattee Manoo-Rahming who was selected for a story entitled “Spider and the Butterfly.” This prize is made possible by the founder publisher of the St. Croix Avis, Rena Brodhurst. It has been offered for more than three decades.

The Marvin E. Williams Literary Prize for a new or emerging writer is awarded to Jody Rathgeb who was selected for her short story entitled “Uncle Jeep.” This prize is sponsored by Dasil Williams, wife of the late Marvin Williams, deceased editor of The Caribbean Writer.

The Cecile de Jongh Literary Prize to a Caribbean author whose work best expresses the spirit of the Caribbean goes to Jane Bryce, who is selected for her work entitled “When it Happened.” This prize is sponsored by former Governor John de Jongh, Jr. on behalf of his wife for her abiding support and interest in the literary life of the Virgin Islands and the region.

The David Hough Literary Prize to an author residing in the Caribbean goes to Patricia Nelthropp Fagan for her story “Jewish Island Girl.” This is the final installment of this prize.

For the first time, The Caribbean Writer is awarding The Vincent Cooper Literary Prize to a Caribbean author for exemplary writing in Caribbean Nation Language. The recipient is Dionne Peart for her short story ‘Merica.” This prize is sponsored by University of the Virgin Islands Professor, Dr. Vincent Cooper, a longstanding member of The Caribbean Writer’s Board of Editors, a Rhodes Scholar, author and poet.

Beginning with Volume 34, authors may also qualify for The Boyce Literary Prize for an author residing in the Caribbean whose work best expresses the changing social dynamics of regional life. The Boyce Literary Prize is sponsored by Michael and Vicky Boyce, author and photographer, international travelers and owners of Boyce Plumbing Contractors, a Virgin Islands business that has been serving the community for over 50 years.

For more information about The Caribbean Writer, contact the Public Relations Office at (340) 693-1059 or email