The Presidential Search for the University of Virgin Islands’6th Underway

The Board of Trustees has retained the services of Isaacson Miller, a leading higher education search firm, to assist with the recruitment of the best possible candidate to succeed Dr. Hall, whose contract ends July 2024.  

As we begin this process, we will be seeking feedback, suggestions, and field questions to develop the position profile which will guide the presidential search.  The Board wants to gain insight from all UVI community stakeholders to leverage the most diverse perspectives to identify candidates best suited to UVI and our community needs. 

Information on the presidential search will appear shortly on the UVI website. Announcements will be shared with updates on the process and general information.  Also included will be advice on how to nominate a candidate or provide other suggestions to the search committee.   

The Board of Trustees remains committed to finding a leader who will continue UVI’s tradition of excellence and ensure that our students receive the highest quality education possible. More information on these important initiatives will be available in the weeks to come. We thank you for your support during this important time in the life of the University.  

This critical committee, comprised of individuals who bring a broad, diverse set of experiences and perspectives to the process, is charged with the following: 

  • Developing a formal criterion to guide the search process;
  • Engaging the University community and stakeholders to gain insights and considerations of the next president;
  • Conducting a focused and comprehensive search with the support and guidance of our external search firm.
  • Identifying, interviewing, and vetting potential candidates; and
  • Putting forth a formal recommendation to the Board of Trustees for consideration.  

Please find below the members of the UVI Presidential Search Committee:  

Oran C. Roebuck Trustee and St. Croix Businesswoman  

Dr. John A. Quelch Trustee and Dean of School of Business Univ. of Miami 

John P. De Jongh Trustee, Former Governor, and St. Thomas Businessman 

Erica Johnson Creamer Trustee and Businesswoman 

Dr. Kyza A. Callwood Trustee and St. Thomas Administrator 

Edward E. Thomas Trustee Emeritus and Retired St. Thomas Businessman 

Jennifer Nugent-Hill Trustee Emeritus and Businesswoman 

Dr. Yvonne E. L. Thraen Trustee Emeritus and Retired Administrator 

Jose A. Penn St. John Businessman 

Honorable Emile Henderson Magistrate Judge 

Sharmane A. Brookes St. Thomas Businesswoman 

Ariel Joseph St. Croix UVI Student 

Osbert Potter Former Lt. Governor and St. Thomas Businessman